Fit Chic NYC’s Blog


How to increase burpee speed

Reader Mark B. is working on his burpee challenge and asks:

I’m up to 22 in one minute. I’m going for 30. Anyone have advice to increase speed?

First off, 22 is great! So let’s talk about how to get over your speed roadblock. The science behind a minute of burpees – it’s considered anaerobic exercise, meaning it doesn’t use oxygen as its main source of energy.

To increase speed I suggest training in intervals, using the Tabata protocol. Tabata works by performing eight non-stop rounds of 20 seconds work, 10 seconds rest totaling four minutes. So pump out as many burpees as you can in 20 seconds, rest for 10 seconds then go straight into 20 seconds of burpee action, rest for 10 seconds etc., completing the 20/10 cycle a total of eight times.

For the next week don’t perform a minute of burpees straight, train with the 20/10 intervals.

When you only have a minute of work, speed is king (assuming form is already correct) and by using Tabata’s repeated short intervals, you are conditioning your body to work without a full recovery.

Good luck!

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

After going over a handful of the blog articles on your web page, I
truly appreciate your technique of writing a blog. I bookmarked it to my bookmark
site list and will be checking back in the near future.

Please visit my website too and let me know your opinion.

Comment by baby clothes

Wow! After all I got a web site from where I know how to in fact get useful
information concerning my study and knowledge.

Comment by Maybelle




Leave a Reply

