Fit Chic NYC’s Blog


What if Carrie Bradshaw wore Lululemon instead of Balenciaga?

As lame as it may sound, I sometimes like to pretend that I’m Carrie Bradshaw from Sex and the City – and I know I’m not the only female living in NYC who does this! Just like Carrie I frolic through the big apple, explore the city’s dating scene, grab fabulous dinners and spend unforgettable nights out with friends.

And while I may work for a magazine and absolutely love living in NYC, in my dream I’m a sportier version of Carrie. I’d gladly trade a pair of Manolo Blahnik stilettos for new running sneakers and I would much prefer an all-access gym card to an all-access Fashion Week pass.

Perhaps this vision of mine is what I want my career to blossom into, which has brought about an interesting conversation amongst my friends. Most of us are now just about two years out of college and with 2009 (and the whole aught decade), coming to an end, we’re talking about what’s next. One friend recently closed on a house and another is set to wed in early spring, some are receiving their first raise while others make the best of things while they wait, unemployed, for the economy to pick back up. Beside fun speculation, this discussion has shed light on the value of priorities, and as we move into 2010, I want to emphasize the importance of including fitness on the top of that list. Don’t think of it as a resolution because to me the term “resolution” holds no weight (yes, pun intended!). Besides, the goal of fitness isn’t something one can, or should, accomplish in only a year, it’s an entire lifestyle adjustment. And with my reinstated commitment to the blog I promise to be here to help guide and motivate you to uphold this priority.

Here’s to a fit and happy New Year!

Just for fun
Here are some classic Carrie quotes:
“As we speed along this endless road to the destination called who we hope to be, I can’t help but whine, ‘Are we there yet?’”

“They say life’s what happens when you’re busy making other plans. But sometimes in New York, life is what happens when you’re waiting for a table.”

“Maybe the past is like an anchor holding us back. Maybe, you have to let go of who you were to become who you will be.”

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

Great blog !!!! You are the NEXT Carrie Bradshaw and better !!!!! I think the opened a Lululemon store in the Gardens.

Comment by lynne




Leave a Reply

