Fit Chic NYC’s Blog


Move it, move it
February 21, 2009, 4:03 PM
Filed under: Fitness, NYC life | Tags: , , , ,

After a long month of apartment hunting, I’m finally moving next week. While attempting to carry home a few empty boxes and a couple of leftover newspapers from work a few nights ago, my arms felt like they were going to fall off! I literally thought there was a fire building and waiting to explode from inside my biceps. And mind you, it’s only a seven minute walk to my apartment from work.

This got me thinking… this whole moving process is going to burn some serious calories (hopefully)! The body burns calories by functioning alone (i.e. breathing, digesting food) and you also burn calories performing normal daily functions like washing the dishes and even sitting in front of the TV. While it’s a nominal amount and doesn’t take the place of exercise, every little bit helps!

S0, inspired to do a little research, I was able to come up with an estimation of how many calories I’m going to burn just by packing my room, cleaning my apartment and moving – then doing it all over again while unpacking – thanks to the calculations I found at CalorieLab.com:

Sweeping floors, 15 minutes: 34 calories
Washing dishes, 15 minutes: 22 calories
Vacuuming, 30 minutes: 60 calories
Packing suitcase, 2 hour: 120 calories
Moving furniture and household items, 2 hours: 590 calories
Scrubbing floors/bathtubs, 30 minutes: 82 calories
Packing/unpacking boxes light to moderate effort, 4 hours: 592 calories
Putting away household items, moderate effort, 2 hours: 236 calories

… So give or take, I’m looking at burning around 1,736 calories next Friday. Not shabby for a workout that’s guaranteed not to be boring! And honestly, after all the stress I’ve had from this whole ordeal, it’ll be nice to reap some extra benefits. To bad I never want to move again!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

